[gregoryuconn] The First One Now Will... Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Lateral Puzzles » Solved Lateral Thinking Puzzles » Solved Puzzles - November 2010 » [gregoryuconn] The First One Now Will Later Be Last « Previous Next »

Author Message
Gregoryuconn (Gregoryuconn)
New member
Username: Gregoryuconn

Post Number: 377
Registered: 9-2010
Posted on Friday, November 19, 2010 - 9:34 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IPPrint Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

The baseball pitcher allowed the winning run, yet was credited with a win rather than a loss. How did this happen?

Note: This is FMOI, though it is theoretically possible and a scenario like this very nearly happened a couple years ago.
Biograd (Biograd)
New member
Username: Biograd

Post Number: 1227
Registered: 6-2008
Posted on Friday, November 19, 2010 - 9:43 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IPPrint Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Did he allow a winning run by someone on his own team, in a later inning, as a result of a pitch that he made? Was the "winning run" made while he was pitching? Was some rule broken, such that although the run seemed "valid" at the time, it ended up not counting?
Peter365 (Peter365)
New member
Username: Peter365

Post Number: 3093
Registered: 1-2007
Posted on Friday, November 19, 2010 - 10:03 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IPPrint Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hmm ... the times they are a changin'.

Was he actually pitching in the game? was he an ex pitcher now umpire?
Balin (Balin)
New member
Username: Balin

Post Number: 8686
Registered: 4-2010
Posted on Saturday, November 20, 2010 - 12:14 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IPPrint Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Was the win a walk-off? Or was the losing team simply not able to catch up?

Was he pitching when he allowed the winning run? Hitting? Running?
Whirligig (Whirligig)
New member
Username: Whirligig

Post Number: 496
Registered: 8-2010
Posted on Saturday, November 20, 2010 - 2:59 am:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IPPrint Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

He gave up an extra run earlier? Without that, the team's last run wouldn't have been the winning run?
Noel (Noel)
New member
Username: Noel

Post Number: 2056
Registered: 7-2009
Posted on Saturday, November 20, 2010 - 1:18 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IPPrint Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Are baseball errors relevant?
Gregoryuconn (Gregoryuconn)
New member
Username: Gregoryuconn

Post Number: 378
Registered: 9-2010
Posted on Saturday, November 20, 2010 - 1:33 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IPPrint Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Did he allow a winning run by someone on his own team, in a later inning, as a result of a pitch that he made? I'm not sure what you mean here Was the "winning run" made while he was pitching? yes. Just as a point, since he allowed the run but did not receive the loss, it is clear that another pitcher allowed the runner to reach base. This is a well-known baseball rule and happens many times. Now find out how he actually wound up with the win. This requires a bit more knowledge so I will allow google. Was some rule broken, such that although the run seemed "valid" at the time, it ended up not counting? No, the run did indeed count.

Was the win a walk-off? this one Or was the losing team simply not able to catch up?

Was he pitching when he allowed the winning run? yes Hitting? Running? none of these

He gave up an extra run earlier? Without that, the team's last run wouldn't have been the winning run? No (he could have given up a run at some point in the game, but this thought would lead to a massive FA so I'm going to say no)

Are baseball errors relevant? Assume no
Balin (Balin)
New member
Username: Balin

Post Number: 8695
Registered: 4-2010
Posted on Saturday, November 20, 2010 - 3:23 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IPPrint Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Was the game started on one day, but concluded on another (due to a rainout or something)? Had he been pitching for the other team at the time? And got traded in between the two halves of the game?
Gregoryuconn (Gregoryuconn)
New member
Username: Gregoryuconn

Post Number: 380
Registered: 9-2010
Posted on Sunday, November 21, 2010 - 3:13 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IPPrint Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Was the game started on one day, but concluded on another (due to a rainout or something)? Had he been pitching for the other team at the time? And got traded in between the two halves of the game? Close enough for me to you-know what it.

****SPOILER****
The pitcher in question came in for the home team in the top of the inning in a tie game. He left in the middle of the inning, at which point the game was suspended (probably rain). He then was traded from one team to another, where he surrendered the winning run after coming in to relief in the bottom of the inning (pitching for the away team) and gave up the winning run. Since he was the pitcher of record for the home team, he got the win. God job Balin.
Balin (Balin)
New member
Username: Balin

Post Number: 8714
Registered: 4-2010
Posted on Sunday, November 21, 2010 - 5:24 pm:   Edit PostDelete PostView Post/Check IPPrint Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Fun puzzle!

Add Your Message Here
Post:
Username: Posting Information:
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action: