[JenBurdoo] Roll for initiative!

An archive of solved lateral thinking puzzles.

Moderators: peter365, Balin, kalira, JenBurdoo, Tiger

[JenBurdoo] Roll for initiative!

Postby JenBurdoo » Sat Jan 21, 2017 12:24 am

Two players meet, shake hands, and prepare to play a tabletop wargame. The moment the second player finishes setting up his pieces, the game is over. Explain.
JenBurdoo
 
Posts: 1449
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 11:12 pm
Location: Florida, USA

Re: [JenBurdoo] Roll for initiative!

Postby Grip » Sat Jan 21, 2017 2:20 am

Is the game over because the first player won? the second player? is some quirk of the rules relevant?

Is this at a tournament?
Grip
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 10:47 am
Location: Central Florida, USA

Re: [JenBurdoo] Roll for initiative!

Postby Balin » Sat Jan 21, 2017 3:34 am

Player 1: H/A/M?
Player 2: H/A/M?

Are any of the specific pieces relevant? Are they figurines?
Has Player 1 fulfilled a losing condition of the game? Has Player 2 fulfilled a winning condition?
Has Player 1 set up his pieces as well? All of them? Any of them?
Balin
 
Posts: 5642
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 11:12 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: [JenBurdoo] Roll for initiative!

Postby JenBurdoo » Sun Jan 22, 2017 3:41 pm

Is the game over because the first player won? the second player? This. is some quirk of the rules relevant? YMMV - you don't need to be familiar with the game to understand.

Is this at a tournament? Irr.

Player 1: H/A/M? H/A/Irr.
Player 2: H/A/M? H/A/Irr.

Are any of the specific pieces relevant? No. Are they figurines? Yes.
Has Player 1 fulfilled a losing condition of the game? This. Has Player 2 fulfilled a winning condition?
Has Player 1 set up his pieces as well? No. All of them? Any of them?
JenBurdoo
 
Posts: 1449
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 11:12 pm
Location: Florida, USA

Re: [JenBurdoo] Roll for initiative!

Postby GalFisk » Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:19 pm

Has player 2 set up his pieces so that player 1 cannot set up any pieces? Cannot set up any pieces in a way that they have a chance to win? Does player 2 do this intentionally? Can all players do what player 2 did? If not, do they need: certain figurines? Certain starting conditions? Luck?
GalFisk
 
Posts: 6981
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 8:03 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: [JenBurdoo] Roll for initiative!

Postby RedWine » Mon Jan 23, 2017 12:18 pm

Did Player2 set up his pieces first? Did Player1 set up his pieces first? Had Player1 had the chance to set up his pieces, but he chose not to?
RedWine
 
Posts: 4181
Joined: Mon May 26, 2014 7:55 am
Location: Poland

Re: [JenBurdoo] Roll for initiative!

Postby JenBurdoo » Tue Jan 24, 2017 7:49 pm

Has player 2 set up his pieces so that player 1 cannot set up any pieces? Yes. Cannot set up any pieces in a way that they have a chance to win? Does player 2 do this intentionally? Yes. Can all players do what player 2 did? Depends on the faction of their army. If not, do they need: certain figurines? Not necessarily, but it helps. Certain starting conditions? For SVV of starting conditions. Luck?

Did Player2 set up his pieces first? Yes. Did Player1 set up his pieces first? Had Player1 had the chance to set up his pieces, but he chose not to? This.

I should probably have expected a quickie out of this...

Spoiler:

This occurred in a Warhammer 40,000 game. Player 1 put his army in reserve, allowing him to bring his individual units on at a turn and place of his choosing. Player 2 set up and blocked the area where Player 1's troops would have entered the board when they came on -- there is a rule that prevents pieces from moving within one inch of their opponent, and he had enough figures to spread them across Player 1's deployment zone. There is another rule that states that if one player has no units on the board, and cannot deploy more, he loses then and there...
JenBurdoo
 
Posts: 1449
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 11:12 pm
Location: Florida, USA


Return to Solved Lateral Thinking Puzzles

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest